Reflections of His Grace with Emily Harmon

My hearts desire is to encourage women of all ages to love, trust and follow Christ more deeply.

Have you ever noticed how much more natural it is to complain about what we don’t have, than to be thankful for what we do have? It seems as if everyone these days (myself included) is always desiring more……More money, more time, a bigger house, a nicer car, more education, more vacations, a child, a soul mate .…..The list is endless! There is nothing wrong with desiring any of these things; but sadly, it is so easy to think about everything we wish we had, or all the circumstances we long to be different, that we are blinded to the many, many, many blessings God has so graciously bestowed upon us!

I have found it to be true in my own life, that when I focus on everything I don’t have or all the things I would like to change; I am robbed of the joy that comes from having a thankful heart for all God has given me. We take so much for granted! We forget that each and every day is a gift from God! The very air we breathe is God’s blessing to us!

The next time you are discouraged or tempted to complain, start counting your blessings! I am talking about thanking God for some of the very basic, everyday things that are so easy to overlook! Thank God for the roof over your head, the food that is daily on your table, the clothes on your back, and arms and legs that serve you day after day.  Give thanks to the Lord for His spiritual blessings to you such as His grace, mercy, faithfulness and unfailing love!

Oh Ladies, we are so blessed! We have been given so much! May God cultivate in us a thankful heart that rejoices in all He has done for us! I have found no better way to pull my heart out of discouragement, than by praising God for my blessings! As the old hymn says “Count your blessings, name them one by one. And it will surprise you what the Lord has done!”

May Thanksgiving be the attitude of our hearts, not just a holiday we celebrate!

Leave a comment