Reflections of His Grace with Emily Harmon

My hearts desire is to encourage women of all ages to love, trust and follow Christ more deeply.

Incredibly busy – words that describe most of us! We have so many opportunities to be involved in so many things! Children can be toted weekly to piano lessons, violin lessons, track, soccer, baseball, basketball, gymnastics, dance, tumbling, horse riding lessons, sewing lessons, Awana, swim lessons – the list could go on and on. We as adults are offered just as many opportunities! Unfortunately, words like exhausted, frazzled, stressed, overwhelmed, weary and depleted reflect well the feelings of many. I know I am not alone when I say, there are times I feel as if I cannot continue functioning at the current pace I am keeping. You can surely relate to that longing to be removed from the rat race, even for just a day or two.If we were honest, most of us feel as if we are running on E most of the time. We know our walk with Lord suffers as a result of our hectic schedules, and in turn we suffer.

As I write this there is a verse comes to my mind “I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” (John 10:10)  How does this overscheduled, stressed, exhausting life most of us experience, fit with the abundant life Christ designed us to live for His glory? Is this the abundant life He was speaking of? Is it possible to not always run on E and still accomplish all the Lord would have us to do?

If you or I are traveling on the interstate and our low fuel light comes on, we know that action is required, and required soon if we are going to successfully reach our destination. In our walk with the Lord we are often aware that indeed our “low fuel” light has come on, in fact, the light has not just come on, but we can begin to feel the sputter and roughness of our need to “re-fuel”.  Why is it we try to continue to run on empty? I believe there are many reasons we neglect to refuel, some of which may include our denial that we are really in need of fuel, the thought that we can walk intimately with Christ in our own strength or an unwillingness to face the possible changes that the abundant life with Christ requires. Many times I think we honestly feel as if we are unable to make changes that would allow for a more abundant life….we can easily feel “stuck” in the craziness of our routine.

Let me share with you some things the Lord has been pressing on my heart as I have contemplated the level of stress and exhaustion in my own life.

I am a fool to think I can be all Christ would have me to be without spending quality time with Him regularly. When the fact grips me that the Lord is my source of strength, wisdom, power and joy, I am kidding myself to act as if time with Him can be neglected. There are many days I have not taken time to feed myself spiritually through reading the Word and praying, simply because I felt I could not afford to spend time doing so because of the many pressing, time sensitive things that had to be done. The longer I walk with the Lord, the more I realize that I don’t have time, to not spend time with Him! The more my schedule holds, the more I need God! Oh the peace in my heart and energy I have when I have taken time to have sweet fellowship with my Lord! My anxious heart can be stilled, my burden lifted and my faith renewed when I spend time at the feet of Jesus! Like Job, I need to say “I have esteemed the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.” (Job 23:12b)

In Mark chapter 6 we find Jesus ministering to so many people, feeding thousands with just a few fishes and loaves, and then in verse 46 it says “and when he (Jesus) had sent them away, he departed into a mountain to pray.”  Here we see Jesus, the very Son of God, getting away into a quiet place to commune with His father and allow His heart to be refreshed and strengthened. If Jesus needed intimate fellowship with God His father, how do I think that I, a fallible human can operate effectively without time with my Savior? We must realize that time with the Lord is not something we “have to” give up some precious time for, but rather, fellowship with our Creator should be the center of our life from which everything else flows. Oh that I would desire time with my God above all else!

I firmly believe another major factor to our running on E, is our lack of use of the simple two letter word, “NO”. Such a small word, yet so hard to say!!! By nature, my husband and I are both “YES” people, which does have some positives, but at the same time this can make for a level of stress and exhaustion God never intended. It is possible to run yourself ragged on good things! But is this what God had in mind when He created us? The fast pace life so many of us live today is not only detrimental to our walk with Christ, but it also negatively effects our marriages, parenting, and other precious relationships. I encourage you to examine the things that keep your family so busy and frazzled and ask God to show you if these things are really His best for your family.

Saying “no” is not easy! We naturally want to please people, do what everyone else is doing and  we don’t like to feel as if we are missing out….But are we missing out on God’s best when we are so busy running here and there that life has lost all meaning? Let me share with you a secret my husband and I are learning….It is okay to say “no”! You do not have to feel guilty to tell someone “no” so you can have a much needed date night, or simply a long awaited night at home to rest and relax. When you look in scripture God puts much emphasis on marriage and the family. No apologies are needed for making something so dear to God’s heart a priority!

Now I may step on some toes…..Could it be that one of the reasons we are always running on low fuel is because of some of the choices we make with the use of our time? Social media has completely consumed our culture! I cannot believe how much time I can waste on Facebook. I may have a day that I feel there is no way to get everything done and the next thing I know I came up with 30 minutes to spend on Facebook…..In reality, I didn’t have that 30 minutes nor was it a beneficial use of my time. God has worked in my heart about this area of my life and for me, there are changes that I have needed to make, and God has graciously given me a sweet husband to help keep me accountable! Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that all social media is wrong or bad. There are many ways it can be used as a great blessing, but when not used appropriately social media can be an enormous time stealer and keep us from the things that really matter.

There is so much more I could write in regards to the low fuel lights in our lives. Many things affect this continuous strain we all feel. For each of us, the changes may be different that we are in need of making so that we can live the abundant life Christ desires. I encourage you to seek God’s heart about His priorities for you. Be willing and ready to make some hard choices if that is what Christ has for you. Trust me, if you can start living with your fuel tank on full instead of empty, I don’t believe you will ever desire to go back to E.

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden
and I will give you rest.
Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me;
for I am meek and lowly in heart:
and ye shall find rest unto your souls.
For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”
Matthew 11:28-30

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment